2nd “Liebster Award” Nomination

This is the second blog produced as a response to a nomination for the “Liebster Award”.

Thanks to pine717 for the nomination, the following questions were asked by this blogger and I have provided my answers.

  1. “What made you want to start writing a blog?

I have always enjoyed writing and wanted to develop this skill. I also enjoy reviews which discuss stories (such as the meanings and symbolism used in films) and wanted to produce reviews which reflected this.

2. “Outside of gaming, what hobbies do you try to cultivate?”

I play a sport. I enjoy the team aspect and using my skill and strategy to win. I also enjoy reading and watching films.

3. “Night Owl or Early Riser?”

I used to be an Early Riser, but am now a Night Owl. I still like the look of dawn on a clear day and the bright, morning sunlight, so it is a bit of a shame I stay up late.

4. “Book or movie that had the greatest influence on you growing up?”

I am not really influenced much by books and movies. I have always enjoyed the James Bond stories, so I would have to say those books and films. After reading how the James Bond films were influenced by fashions in film, I would have to state that the films themselves seem to chronicle the history of film (from the glamorous sixties to blaxplotation to king-fu to science-fiction to understated eighties to action thriller to gritty noughties to remake). The books are also interesting, as the writer seems to use varied ideas (such as highly political thriller, gangster story, short stories, domestic drama, point-of-view of another character, etc.). In one novel, a heroic character describes how he seduced his wife, won her in a fight, carried her away unconscious when she resisted, kept naked under a table and fed on scraps of food when she tried to escape, until she eventually loves him. This is described as a good way to treat women, so it is probably good that I was not easily influenced.

I also feel my life has been affected by a book called “The Colour Atlas of Clinical Gynaecology”, but I was not a kid when I read it.

5. “Favourite beverage to relax with?”

The eighth beer. Not really. I actually like chilled cola.

6. “Favourite character from a game?”

My favourite character from a game would be Naked Snake from Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater. I enjoy the game and find this character interesting. The character seems to go through a change during the story and is shown to have a close relationship with some of the other characters. I also find it interesting how this character changes in later games (the fact that he is first shown as a 3D character in this game also gives him a strange aura).

I am also interested in Donald Love from the Grand Theft Auto series. The Grand Theft Auto games between Grand Theft Auto 3 and Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories seem to show the development and characters and stories in a fictional universe, the most prominent of these characters include Donald Love. In 1986, he is the protégé to a Vice City property magnate. In 1998, he is a wealthy business owner trying to run for mayor of Liberty City, who is bankrupted before he regains his wealth, partly by destroying a neighbourhood of the city. In 2001, he is a media tycoon, who orchestrates the rescue of a friend and becomes obsessed with a mysterious object he retrieves from an unknown source, before disappearing. Amongst this, there are references to unexplained “morgue parties” and darker elements of his personality. It is also interesting how his character changes from shy to jolly to suave.

7. “Favourite season of the year?”

My favourite season would be Spring. I remember it being the right temperature (not too warm or cold) with interesting weather (sometimes being bright, sometimes downpour), without the steady damp of other seasons.

8. “What was the first game that really made you like video and computer games?”

It would have to be Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Until then, I had mostly played simple games, such as Mega Drive games like Sonic and Ecco, which were enjoyable, but uncomplicated. Playing Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time was much different. The story was much more involving and featured much more heavily than older games. The puzzles required more thought and practice. The settings were interesting and the dungeons were themed.  The world outside of the main story was much more complex, there were collectibles, characters had their own stories and there were many areas to explore. Interestingly, some of these details had no affect on the plot, which was strange considering everything in older games were designed to influence the single story running through the game. This game demonstrated that games were not just a diversion for an hour or so, they could be story-telling mediums which used well-designed environments and allowed the player to explore. It was also interesting the impact of the game on the outside world. People, who I did not think ever played computer games, wanted advice on completing dungeons and friends would talk about their progression in the game.

9. “The Beatles or Led Zeppelin? (Or neither?)”

I prefer  The Beatles, particularly the later music. I like the way the music ranged from simple, peaceful music (“Here Comes the Sun”) to surreal (“Glass Onion”) to playful (“Octopus’ Garden”), which seem, to me, to represent sixties popular culture.

10. “Pie or cake?”

What is the intention for this question? I prefer to eat cakes than pies (cakes have icing).

11. “Favourite number”

I like the number ten. It was always easy to add, subtract, multiply and divide by ten at school and I have loved the number since then.

As part of the award, a group of bloggers are selected and invited to answer a number of questions.

These are the questions:

  1. Why did you choose the name of your blog?
  2. If you could go back in time to experience any event, where would you go?
  3. What subjects do you enjoy finding out information about?
  4. What is a mystery you would like to know the answer to?
  5. What is the funniest way that you have heard anyone mistake the lyrics for a song?
  6. What is the weirdest question you have been asked as part of a Liebster Award Nomination?
  7. What is the name of a dance song (which sounds like it was from the eighties) which features energetic music and a deep voice singing “Hold me”?
  8. How do you like to write blogs?
  9. What would you do if I sang out of tune?
  10. What is a song that reminds you of a specific time or place?

These are my nominated bloggers:

  1. mrpanda,
  2. evilwizardesq,
  3. LilSamuelJones,
  4. LightningEllen,
  5. AstroAdam,
  6. Anyone who reads this blog post
9 comments

  1. pine717

    Oooffff, yeah Ian Flemming had some really messed up attitudes. What’s always bothered me about James Bond was how he’s described as the ultimate gentlemen, but his actions and attitudes toward women, especially in the older fiction, are just incredibly sleazy. I do like how the more recent Daniel Craig stuff has been a little more self-aware of how crude Bond’s relationships with women can be.

    Also, the first GTA game I played was GTAIV, so it’s interesting to hear that the series has such elaborate character threads that span across games. I didn’t really realize that there were little connections between games like that.

    • moresleepneeded

      There are a lot of interesting things that can be found by analysing Ian Fleming’s writing. For example, any food James Bond eats is usually described as the best in the world and he mentions in one book that one villain is suspected to be homosexual because he is “unable to whistle”. There is also an “authors note” at the beginning of From Russia With Love, where he suggests his description of rooms used by the Soviet Intelligence Service and their senior personnel are true to life, which seems odd considering he was just a writer. I have also thought it was interesting how each book describes how he lost the girl from the previous adventure.
      It was interesting how the Grand Theft Auto games tried to create a fictional universe by suggesting the different locations in each game were linked as it did not seem to be those sort of games. I remember Grand Theft Auto IV was less cartoony and more gritty than the previous games.

  2. veryverygaming

    Really interesting answers moresleepneeded. I like your questions too. So I don’t hog your entire comments section I’ll just answer two if I may: questions 5 and 7.

    Question 5 was about mishearing song lyrics. The first one that comes to mind is a song from a comedy TV show, Not the Nine O’Clock News:

    I was young at the time and so the joke went completely over my head. I thought they were saying “kinda lingers” and that was just a quirky way of saying goodbye.

    As for question 7, a song with “hold me” sung in a deep voice… I don’t know about deep voice but there’s an 80s song by Fleetwood Mac called Hold Me. Is that the one you’re thinking of?

    • moresleepneeded

      I remember that sketch from Not the Nine O’clock News and I probably would have reacted the same way as a kid (like many innuendos I heard at the time).
      I actually ran out of questions to ask so I asked that one as I had heard the song, but never found out what the song was. It was actually used in the advert for the Slumdog Millionaire film, but did not appear in the film itself, if that helps.

Leave a Reply

